MAINE STATE BOARD OF NURSING LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS Advanced Practice Registered Nurse

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect additional information that may be requested based on review of an application.

APPLY FOR LICENSURE

- Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "apply for a license"* and follow the instructions. The non-refundable application fee is \$100.00. Applications must be completed by the applicant themselves; nobody is permitted to complete the application on behalf of the applicant.
- 2) Upload a recent, colored, unedited photograph that displays a clear, recognizable, full-face view (headshot). Must be forward-facing, have clear resolution and proper lighting. Do not use any filters or additions. No full-body shots, visibly inappropriate clothing, glasses glare or hats. No other people or objects in the background. Copies of passports, 2X2 passport-style photos, or copies of ID/badge photos will be rejected.
- 3) Full disclosure of **any** criminal history or professional disciplinary action is required during the application process **whether or not you were convicted**.
- 4) Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>, select "I Want to Obtain a Criminal Background Check" and follow the instructions listed. There is a \$52 fee for this process and results are only valid for 90 days, so coordinate appropriate timing with your examination.

INFORMATION FOR "YES" ANSWERS TO DISCIPLINARY QUESTIONS

- In response to any "yes" answers to questions regarding discipline, you are expected to disclose and explain your entire criminal offense history whether or not you were convicted.
- A signed and dated detailed letter of explanation is required, narrating the circumstances surrounding the criminal record or disciplinary action, rehabilitative changes since the time of the disciplinary action, and how you ensure that a similar situation will not be repeated. Once the application is processed, a checklist will be delivered indicating what supplemental documentation you are required to provide.
- Supporting court documents are required for any incidences that occurred less than 10 years ago

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

Maine State law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check upon initial licensure. <u>IdentoGo</u> is the exclusive vendor that is responsible for processing your fingerprints. There is a fee associated with this process. Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "obtain a criminal background check*" and follow the instructions. Please pay careful attention to IdentoGo instructions.

• Criminal background check results are only valid for **90 days**.

- The Maine Board of Nursing cannot accept fingerprint cards or criminal background check results mailed by you, or results that were completed for another facility, even if the previous check was completed through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- There is no crime listed in Maine State law that automatically disqualifies an applicant from becoming a Nurse, however the Board may consider whether the applicant has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. Some factors that would be considered are the nature of the conviction, when it occurred, facts and circumstances surrounding the event, etc.

ACTIVE REGISTERED PROFESSIONAL NURSING LICENSE

- An active registered professional nursing license in Maine is required <u>or</u> evidence of an active registered professional nurse license in **another compact state** where the applicant legally resides.
- Complete verification of registered professional nurse licensure at <u>www.nursys.com</u>. There is a \$30 fee that must be paid via Visa or Master Card.

PROOF OF NATIONAL CERTIFICATION

- The national certifying body must send or email a copy of a document verifying current certification in the specialty the applicant is applying for.
- This document can be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 or email to <u>APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>.

OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT

- The APRN program must send or email a final transcript with the degree and date conferred.
- This document can be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 or email to <u>APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>.
- If the APRN program was a post-master's certificate program, both the master's and the post master's certificate transcript must be submitted.

SUPERVISORY REQUIREMENTS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS

- Nurse practitioners must be supervised for 2 years by a physician or nurse practitioner in the same practice category. Registration of a supervisory relationship may be completed online at <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</u>. Select "I want to add or change a nurse practitioner supervisor" under online services. The fee is \$50.
- If the applicant has been supervised outside of the State of Maine, the current or previous supervising provider can completed the <u>Verification of Completion of Supervision form</u> located at <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</u> within the "Licensing" tab. Please be sure all areas of the form are completed and include the supervisor's signature and contact information.

PRESCRIPTIVE PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS (Nurse Practitioners, Nurse Mid-Wives, Nurse Anesthetists)

- Transcripts must reflect the completion of a 3-credit pharmacology course; or the applicant must provide evidence of a 3-credit or 45 contact hours course that included: applicable federal/state laws, prescription writing, drug selection, dosage and route, drug interactions, information resources, and clinical application of pharmacology related to specific scope of practice.
- If the applicant has prescribed in the last 2 years, a letter (on official letterhead) signed by a supervising MD or NP verifying current prescriptive practice must be submitted. If you will be providing proof of supervision, you can meet the prescribing requirements through completion of the <u>Verification of Completion of Supervision form</u> located at <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</u> within the "Licensing" tab
- If the applicant has not prescribed in the last 2 years, 15 contact hours of pharmacology, completed within the last 2 years, must be submitted.
- If the applicant has not prescribed in the last 5 years, 45 contact hours or a 3-credit pharmacology course completed in the last 2 years must be submitted.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

- Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an application may be checked by going to <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</u>. Select "I want to check the status of an application" and follow the instructions.
- Verification of active APRN licenses in other states is NOT required.
- After verifying an active Maine state license on the Board website, enrollment with <u>Nursys E-Notify</u> is recommended. Select "As a Nurse" to complete the registration process.
- A license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the Board.
- Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of Nursing. To update your information, go to <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</u> and select the appropriate option in the "I want to" box.